Hobbiton

Processed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 preset

So the day finally arrived. The day I was doing the second longest sector in the world, from Dubai to Auckland, New Zealand. The flight was so long, it was a full load and we got delayed. I don’t think I’ve ever been so exhausted when we finally arrived at the hotel. I didn’t sleep enough before my flight and also I couldn’t rest properly in the crc. Crc stands for crew rest compartment. The compartment has 9 bunks, 3 on top of each other and that’s where we go to sleep if we have really long flights. It was my first experience in there and the air was so dry that I got sick. The crew later told me usually you’ll get sick the first couple times before you get used to it.

The next day 13 people out of the crew including one pilot rented two cars and drove to Hobbiton. It was so much fun doing a little roadtrip and it reminded me of the roadtrip I did thru California two years ago.

Hobbiton is the movie set of where the movie The lord of the rings was filmed. If you haven’t seen the movie, you’ve missed out. I always loved the scenes of where the hobbits were living so when they asked me if I wanted to join the tour the answer was of course yes. Hobbiton is like a small village with 44 super cute small houses. The houses are built in different scales, for example 40% of real size or 100% like standard size to make Frodo look small or to make Gandalf look gigantic. We got so much information about what was going on behind the scenes and I have to say they’ve really put amazing touch to detail.

After the tour we drove to another tour that was held in a cave. The whole tour was about glowworms and it might sound disgusting but they were the most beautiful things ever. We were seated in a big paddleboat and floated around in the big dark cave all lighted up by small small blue lights. Everyone was completely quiet and just admired it. We weren’t allowed to take any pictures and I’m not sure I could capture a picture that would be true to real life anyways.

The next day I had breakfast together with a Swedish girl from my crew. We didn’t really notice each other during the flight since she’s in business class. It’s always a pleasure meeting someone you can speak your native language with. We strolled around the city and then walked down to the marina. It was pouring rain all day so we decided to get back to the hotel and get some well-needed rest before the flight back to Dubai.

The flight back was even longer than on the way there. It was scheduled for 17 hours and 25 minutes. I did have rest for 4 hours and I luckily slept thru it all. It was a night flight so most of the passengers were sleeping as well. I have to say I had a really awesome crew and they made time fly. The crew can really make or break your flight and I have to say even though this was the hardest flight physically it was one of the best ones I’ve had so far.

Leave a Reply

